Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘GPO-WEP’

CEA-Retired Member’s Work Highlighted by NEA

NEA Today is featuring retired educators who are still making a difference—and one of those highlighted is Connecticut’s own Jon-Paul Roden. A former CEA-Retired president, Roden was recently elected to his second term on the NEA-Retired Executive Council.

Read about Roden’s continuing contributions to the teaching profession below.

Jon-Paul Roden
Computer Science Teacher, Vernon, Connecticut

When Jon-Paul Roden started teaching in 1965, he needed to take on a second job to help supplement his income. This side job, along with others, made him eligible for Social Security benefits when he retired in 2000. His colleagues who didn’t take outside work and had only teaching pensions were left without a Social Security benefit, and most importantly, the Medicare Part B coverage. Read more

U.S. Senators Introduce Social Security Fairness Act to Repeal GPO-WEP

CEA-Retired member Jon-Paul Roden serves on the NEA-Retired Executive Council and travels to Washington, D.C., regularly. During his visits he meets with members of Connecticut’s Congressional delegation and their staff to advocate about issues that impact both retirees and public education, including GPO-WEP.

Hundreds of thousands of educators, police officers, fire fighters, and other public service employees lose the Social Security benefits they’ve earned or have them significantly reduced due to two federal offsets known as the Government Pension Offset (GPO) and Windfall Elimination Provision (WEP). This loss of benefits is a real blow to many public service employees, and NEA has long advocated repealing GPO-WEP.

Recognizing and respecting the contributions of educators and other public employees, a group of Senators last week came forward to cosponsor legislation that would eliminate the unfair penalties attached to public service. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH) and Susan Collins (R-ME), along with original cosponsors Sens. Blumenthal (D-CT), Baldwin (D-WI), Franken (D-MN), Heller (R-NV), Hirono (D-HI), Murkowski (R-AK), Reed (D-RI), Udall (D-NM), Vitter (R-LA), Warren (D-MA) and Whitehouse (D-RI), introduced the Social Security Fairness Act of 2015 (S. 1651), previously introduced in the House (H.R. 973) by Representatives Rodney Davis (R-IL) and Adam Schiff (D-CA). Read more