Skip to content

Connecticut Teachers Join National Colleagues for 2018 NEA RA

The Minneapolis Convention Center is ready to officially welcome over 6,000 educator delegates to the NEA RA.

Some of your Connecticut colleagues are in Minneapolis this week as members of the world’s largest democratic deliberative body: the NEA Representative Assembly (RA). The more than 100 CEA members are some of the over 6,000 elected delegates who are representing their colleagues around the nation.

Delegates are more energized than ever as they begin today to set education policy just days after the Janus v. AFSCME Supreme Court decision that sided with corporate interests over working people, threatening the future of workers’ rights.

Educators from every state come together to address how the membership will stand together to build an even stronger union in the wake of Janus and tackle the major issues facing public school students and educators.

Earlier this year, CEA members elected their peers to represent their concerns as delegates to the NEA RA. Delegates represent state and local affiliates, student members, retired members, and other segments of the NEA membership.

First time delegate Kerstin Rao, a Westport Bedford Middle School teacher, and Westport Education Association Co-President and NEA Director John Horrigan.

Every year, new delegates mix with those who have attended the NEA RA in the past. Delegates say the chance to meet and talk with new people, from Connecticut and around the nation, is one of their favorite parts of the RA.

The days at the RA are busy ones for CEA members, with meetings that last from 7:00 in the morning until 6:00 at night. State delegation meetings precede the NEA RA every morning.

Delegates adopt the strategic plan and budget, resolutions, the legislative program, and other policies of the Association. By secret ballot, they vote on proposed amendments to NEA’s Constitution and Bylaws.

This year, former First Lady Michelle Obama and National Football League quarterback and racial and social justice advocate Colin Kaepernick are among the dozen recipients of the 2018 National Education Association Human and Civil Rights Awards. Since 1967, NEA has recognized and honored educators, individuals, and community partners who are advancing the mantle of human and civil rights for students, public education and communities across America.

Stay tuned for more NEA RA news here at BlogCEA, and by visiting

%d bloggers like this: