Skip to content

Search for New Permanent Commissioner of Education Underway

Dianna Roberge-Wentzell is sworn in as interim commissioner of education at this morning's State Board of Education meeting.

Dianna Roberge-Wentzell was sworn in as interim commissioner of education this morning at a State Board of Education meeting.

At its meeting today, the State Board of Education (SBE) formally appointed a search committee to find a new commissioner of education for the state. Former Commissioner Stefan Pryor has left his post, and the SBE this morning swore in Dianna Roberge-Wentzell as interim commissioner as its first item of business.

Roberge-Wentzell, who had been serving as the State Department of Education’s chief academic officer, will lead the State Department of Education while the search committee carries out its work. While Roberge-Wentzell serves as interim commissioner, Academic Division Director Ellen Cohn will fill in as chief academic officer.

The SBE voted to appoint the following members to the search committee:

  • All voting members of the SBE,
  • any individual nominated by the governor to fill a vacancy on the SBE,
  • the chairperson of the Connecticut Technical High School Board, and
  • Elizabeth Donohue, director of policy, Office of the Governor.

After the search process is complete, the search committee will recommend a candidate to the SBE for its consideration. After the SBE approves a candidate, that person will be formally appointed by the governor.

Even before the formal process had begun, CEA showed leadership speaking up about a candidate with the requisite and critical credentials. Read more from the New Haven Register.

%d bloggers like this: